Eargo Plus Direct To Consumer Hearing Aid

Product Info, Reviews, Prices, Videos, and More

55% score based on 7 reviews

About the Eargo Plus

In Eargo Plus, Eargo has retained Eargo’s original, small design - modeled after the size of a conventional invisible-in-canal (IIC). The company promotes the hearing aid as extremely comfortable using its patented Flexi Fibers. The Flexi Fibers help cushion the hearing aid within the ear canal while using an “open fit” design which allows low frequency sounds to enter the ear unoccluded. The Flexi Fibers are removable and can be changed when ear wax plugs the opening. There is also a secondary ear wax filter beyond the Flexi Fibers which acts as an additional barrier to keep ear wax from plugging the receiver. 

Eargo Plus is designed for people with mild-to-moderate high frequency hearing loss, and has four preset sound profiles. Eargo Plus is currently the only rechargeable IIC type of device on the market. Eargo has designed their own charger - the hearing devices snap securely inside. Once charged, Eargo Plus will operate for about 16 hours per day. 

Upon receiving the hearing devices, the Eargo Plus client will receive a phone consultation from this professional explaining everything about their devices, including daily operation through maintenance and including setting realistic expectations. Eargo Plus purchasers is partnered with a licensed hearing professional during the 45-day trial period   

Upgrades Eargo Plus vs the original Eargo:

  • Enhanced gain and frequency response characteristics to fit a wider range of hearing loss
  • Two layers of ear wax protection with removable Flexi Fibers and a removable HF4 filter
  • Numerous design modifications for increased product reliability
  • Extensive consumer support video library for greater user acceptance
  • Expanded Customer Operations center to provide immediate and personalized support
  • Each client receives a designated Personal Hearing Professional to guide them through the 45-day trial period and beyond  
  • Eargo Plus is now available for purchase in all 50 states 

UPDATE 11/16/2017 - We reached out to Eargo for clarification on some of the upgrades to Eargo Plus:

  • What changes were made to gain and frequency response? We increased the gain specifically in the low to middle frequency region to help people mild low to mid frequency hearing loss. This not only allows Eargo to fit more people but helps current hearing aid users adapt to using our hearing devices. 
  • How does the current wax protection system differ from the previous generation? The previous generation of Eargo only had Flexi Fibers that were glued on and could not be changed. By adding the dual layer of removable wax protection, the instances of Eargo Plus being affected by ear wax issues is minimal.
  • Anything specific you can say about design differences? Basically, the Eargo design was evaluated from every possible angle, and improvements were made with the rechargeable battery, the charger itself, the hearing aid jacket, the microphone, etc. The end result has been thousands of hearing aids and clients helped in 2017 with significantly increased reliability and very few RMAs. 

Eargo Plus Model Details

Eargo Plus

Direct To Consumer Hearing Aid

Eargo Plus

7 reviews

Release Date: 01 March 2017

The Eargo Plus has a dedicated volume control and rechargeable batteries.

  • Telecoil:
  • Push Button:
  • IP Rating:

Back to Table of Contents

Eargo Plus Physical Specifications

Eargo Plus
Eargo Plus
Rating
55%

7 reviews

Rechargeable Batteries Battery Type
Lithium-ion
Volume Control
Downloads
Accessories

Model details listed above may be incomplete or inaccurate. For full specifications please refer to product specifications published by the original equipment manufacturer. To suggest a correction to the details listed, please email info@hearingtracker.com.

Back to Table of Contents

Eargo Plus Local Deals

Finding prices for the Eargo Plus online can be challenging. To make things a little easier, we've created a new advertising platform that allows local hearing aid businesses to post special deals, exclusively for Hearing Tracker visitors. Take a look at the deals available, and press the "Unlock Deal" button on any deals that interest you. After filling in the short form, a representative from the local practice will reach out to offer you the special price and service package shown in the advertisement.

Eargo Plus deals delivered to your inbox

Want to know about new deals for the Eargo Plus in Ashburn? Simply fill in this form and we'll get you added to the list. We will not share your email address, and you may cancel your subscription any time.

Deals Near Ashburn

There are currently no deals close to Ashburn. If you are not in Ashburn, please update your location to see deals near you.

Back to Table of Contents

Eargo Plus Technology Details

Eargo Plus
Price $
Rating
55%

7 reviews

Technology specifications listed above may be incomplete or inaccurate. For full specifications please refer to product specifications published by the original equipment manufacturer. To suggest a correction to the details listed, please email info@hearingtracker.com.

Back to Table of Contents

Eargo Plus Accessories

Eargo Charger

Eargo Charger

Functions

  • Battery Charger

Compatible Aids

Back to Table of Contents

Eargo Plus Videos

Eargo Plus Hearing Aid Review - 7 Pros and Cons
Eargo Plus Video

Eargo Plus Hearing Aid Review - 7 Pros and Cons

13 December 2017

Dr. Clifford Olson from Applied Hearing Solutions in Anthem Arizona, discusses the Pros and Cons of Eargo Plus Hearing Aids in this Pro Review.

Back to Table of Contents

Eargo Plus Reviews

Hearing aid reviews are fundamentally different from reviews for most other consumer electronic products. The reason is because individual factors, like degree of hearing loss, have a profound effect one's success and overall satisfaction with the product. When purchasing a hearing aid, you'll need to consider more than just your hearing outcome ... Continue reading

Review the Eargo Plus

Overall Ratings

Hearing Tracker uses a ten-question survey to assess consumer feedback on hearing aids. The percentage bars below reflect the average ratings provided per question.
Note: Original answers provided in star rating format.

Benefit in Quiet
Benefit in Noise
Benefit on the Phone
Clear and Natural
Music Improvement
Physical Comfort
Reliability
Feedback
Hearing Improvement
Value
Consumer Member
Consumer Member 12 March 2019

I just had my second charger die on me and I cannot perform my job without a hearing device. So disappointed and nervous about work.

Eargo
Eargo 10 March 2019
Thank you for your comment, Member. We appreciate you bringing this to our attention. We would like to request your help. In order to look into your Eargo experience to see what our team can do to help, we would like to ask you to send an email to social@eargo.com with the email address used at the time of your purchase. We'll take it from there. 
Consumer Member
Consumer Member 18 February 2019

Two pair within 16 months. First pair left hearing aid quit. Replace through warranty. Second pair received in August 18. Now both of the "aids" are malfunctioning. Constant scrolling when recharging. Time of wear varies from six hours and up. I have to keep my charger plugged in all day because of the constant scrolling. It never lets you know if they are fully charged. If background noise is problem then these are not the answer. Save your money. Eargo wants me to spend $395 to get this pair repaired. Not going for it, I don't have any idea how long the repair would last. I cleaned the charger contacts with alcohol, as recommended by Eargo. There was no difference. The quality of these aids is definitely suspect.

Eargo
Eargo 18 February 2019

We're so sorry to hear the news about your Eargo charger. We can hear it in your comments how frustrated you are and we'd like to help resolve this ASAP. We stand behind our products with a generous warranty and repair policy and want to make this right for you. Please call our Client Care Team at 1-800-375-8058. We can review your history with Eargo and plan the best course of action to get you hearing better. You can also email your name, email, and phone number to social@eargo.com and we'll reach out right away.

Consumer Member
Consumer Member 04 March 2019

I liked the concept of these hearing devices and was really looking forward to receiving my purchase because I wanted hearing devices that were invisible. However, the batteries do not last and I the devices have to be replaced over and over again. I have had my devices replaced a total of 5 times within the one=year under warranty. I was very disappointed with the company that when asking many questions about these devices they never once admitted that the batteries on these units would only last a short period of time. Their answers always promoted their product as the very best with no reason to doubt any problems existed. It is my belief that from inception my devices sent were refurbished devices because they knew they would be replacing them over and over again. I think this company is all about making money and could care less about it customers or its reputation! As long as they can continue selling there wooden nickels; they are happy taking peoples money and for the present staying in business until one day there will be sufficient outrage by customers that maybe the government will shut them down. Until then, if my review will help someone; even if it helps only one other customer from staying away and preventing their loss of investment in these devices; I will have considered justified in offering this review. I now have a worthless pair of hearing devices.

Eargo
Eargo 15 January 2019
Thank you for your comment. We'd like to look into what's going on to see how we can help. Could you please get in touch with your Personal Hearing Professional by calling them at 1-800-375-8058 or sending an email to social@eargo.com? Thanks in advance for your help.
Consumer Member
Consumer Member 15 January 2019 Replied to Eargo

I have tried talking to you people with no response; even yesterday and today I emailed. I have been told there is nothing else that can be done; any other help or replacement of devices will cost me $399.00 per device. I didn't realize I was leasing your product or subscribing to a rental program.

Eargo is not interested in solving my problem only in scamming more money out of me that I in "Good Faith" purchased an original product that I thought would last for a reasonable amount of time.  The devices failed every four to five months and it was always the batteries and in avoiding the issue, I was always told I had DIRTY ears. The play on words by your representatives that all would be alright in the end were only words until the warranty would run out!

You need to seriously accept the fact that you have a problem with the batteries in you EARGO devices and not the customers problem of dirty ears. You should at least provide an extended warranty knowing the your product is going to fail again and again!

Shall I send back my devices so that you can refurbish them or charge the batteries and sell them to another poor unsuspecting soul?

Eargo
Eargo 15 January 2019 Replied to Consumer Member
Thank you for your response. Please feel free to email us directly at social@eargo.com. We're happy to help see what we can do.
Consumer Member
Consumer Member 19 February 2019 Replied to Eargo

OK, so it's been a month or so since I made contact with EARGO as they invited me to do on this site.... sent all my comments and emails to them and guess what....NO RESPONSE. And, I don't think I will receive one... I think it's just a ploy to make everyone think that they really care with NO intention of reaching out and doing anything.

I have been thinking that maybe the time is right for a Class Action Lawsuit; that maybe that will get there attention. Would anyone one out there be interested in launching such an action. I will be looking into this and see what it will take to move forward with such a Class Action Lawsuit. I need your posts here to see if any interest.

Thanks, JSerna

Eargo
Eargo 19 February 2019 Replied to Consumer Member
Hi Mr. Serna. Apologies for the back and forth we're playing. We requested your Personal Hearing Professional give you a call, and they let us know you had a few things going on at the moment. So, they're planning to email you times they are available for a conversation that we're hoping could work with your schedule. Please feel free to dial us directly at 1-800-375-8058.
Consumer Member
Consumer Member 04 March 2019 Replied to Eargo

The latest; NO EMAIL was sent with time for discussion. 

But here is what I did that may prove of interest to those contemplating purchase of Eargo hearing devices. To prove that it is a battery problem and not Dirty Ears as Eargo claim that Millions of American have and the reason for failures in their hearing devices; the last right side device they sent as a replacement after the three months failure, I did not use at all. I simple took it out after a full charge and placed it on the countertop and I would place it back in the charger at night.... I did this for the full three months to see if the battery would fail again! Guess what, without using the device the battery failed after the three month period and the only time I would place it in my ear was just to see if it was working and then back on the countertop. The results were the same; NO DIRTY EAR causing failure the battery went DEAD on its own within the three month experimentation period. EARGO still will not admit that they have battery problem and keep selling devices that will have to be replaced every three to four months. After the year warranty of excusing device failure due to Dirty Ears they want you to pay $399.00 for each device to continue the same frustration for another year. That's leasing the Eargo devices at a cost of $800.00 per year after your initial DEPOSIT of $2,000.00 plus! Buyers beware!!!

Consumer Member
Consumer Member 06 January 2019

I have had an on-going love/hate relationship with these. I had the original units. I liked most things about - rechargeable, invisible, and comfortable. Sound quality varied and were not good with background noise - I would actually take them out in a restaurant because I could hear the conversation three tables away but not at my own table. I also apparently produce much wax and had to return them several times during the warranty period. I was just about to purchase a pair of Costco behind the ear devices when Eargo offered me a substantial discount for the new model. Had the same reliability problems with the new ones and did not notice much of a difference with hearing quality. Now out of warranty, the right one conked out. I see there is now even a new model called Max. I was tempted but think I will now again purchase a Costco behind the ear model. I really liked to invisibility of the Eargos but I think my ear canal is just naturally too moist. Also, the charger has a tendency to get unreliable at times and you have to "play" with it.

Consumer Member
Consumer Member 13 January 2019

Watch out. I read about them in Time's 2018 Invention issue--I was intrigued. Initially, a great buying and support experience. I decided after a few weeks that they weren't helping me that much. When I increased the amplitude I got horrible feedback when I got a mobile call. They didn't provide noise-cancellation only amplification. I tried them in noisy environments and they made everything louder to me and that didn't help. I found my ears getting fatigued Now the watch out: I returned them per their policy. It took about a week after receipt to approve my refund on December 18, 2018 and then I was told another 10 (!) days before I would see the credit. Something didn't smell right about that. As I write this on January 3, 2019 the $2,200 refund hasn't been issued. I just spoke to Eargo and the CSR didn't know why it hadn't been issued. I am to receive a call tomorrow from someone. I just spent 20 minutes on the phone with my credit card company to contest the charges. I went to Costco and spent $500 less and am much happier with their true noise cancellation and the hearing test I got (for free) was used to create a custom profile for my hearing loss. January 11, 2019 Update: Still waiting to see the $2,200 credit on my VISA. I have told by Customer Support that the "problem" with their credit card processor has been corrected as of two days ago. Something still doesn't smell right here. January 13, 2019 update: After nearly a month since Eargo received my return I now have an official credit from them As I said, watch out.

Consumer Member
Consumer Member 03 January 2019

I was facing paying out of pocket for an MRI, as well as hearing aids before I found Eargo. I did not want to spend $10=12k, so I started looking for options. When I found the Eargo Max, I called and spoke to sales about them. Considering the money back guarantee, I didn't have anything to lose, and I ordered them. It has made a night and day difference in my world. My tinnitus is far less apparent now, and I can hear things I haven't heard in years. I am also astounded by the technology even though I work in the tech sector. The Eargo Max is tiny, and it lasts all day. I have yet to run out of battery life in a single day, and the clarity it brings to my hearing is amazing. I absolutely love them, and I can't live without them now. The only thing I can say that isn't perfect about them is a slight bit of noise cancelling that happens when there are certain sound frequencies present. It's nothing that severe I would consider ditching them, and I look at it as a small price to pay for a device that not only saved me between $8-10k, but also is so small, nobody knows I have them. That was a huge concern to me considering I'm still fairly young. Beyond the device is the company. They have done everything imaginable to make certain I have a positive experience. For example, I wanted to buy some of their "dome" flexifibers, and they didn't have them for sale yet. No problem, they sent them to me. I didn't think those were quite large enough for one of my ears, so I contacted them. No problem, they sent me larger ones. All of this at no cost! Their audiologist are also incredibly nice and bend over backwards to make certain you are getting the most out of the device. I have already recommended them to family and colleagues, and have had one of them buy a pair. He loves his as well. I can't even begin to describe how great they are to people, but I can tell you that I HIGHLY recommend giving them a try.

Eargo
Eargo 03 January 2019

We’re happy to hear Eargo is helping you hear more of life! Thank you for sharing your excellent Eargo experience. Our Personal Hearing Professionals are hear for you to answer any questions or provide support (technical or otherwise). We're all ears at 1-800-375-8058. Ch(ears)! 👂

Consumer Member
Consumer Member 27 September 2018

Eargo is the solution for me at this point in my hearing loss. I've had them for a couple months now and am very pleased with them. I have been tested by hearing professionals at a medical clinic and was told that one ear was profound loss while the other was moderate loss. I had tried (in-store demo) traditional "over the ear" hearing aids from Miracle Ear, and whereas the hearing assistance provided was significant, the cost of the devices was prohibitive for me. Eargo's pricing was well within my purchase range, and I was able to use my flex-spending account provided by my employer. Plus, although I am old by some standards, (53), I really don't feel old enough to have a hearing aid device that everyone can see. Nothing wrong with it, but I just don't want that. After the 45 day trial period of my Eargos, I am well pleased with the level of hearing assistance they give me. I had great trouble understanding voices, especially in a crowded environment. For the first time in a very long time, I am able to clearly hear and understand the conversation at my table in a noisy restaurant. One of my employees is very soft-spoken and I routinely had to ask her to repeat herself. Not anymore with my Eargos. As far as comfort, these devices are very comfortable. I did have some trouble at first with one of them hurting after a few hours of wearing them, but after talking with my Eargo consultant, he advised me how to trim the flex-fibers to achieve a comfortable fit. Now, don't get me wrong, I do still know, most of the time, that they are in my ears, but just a few minutes ago I reached to scratch my ear and had forgotten that the device was in there until I felt it! LOL! The only problem I've experienced so far is that when I eat anything, they tend to want to back out of my ear canal slightly. Not a deal-breaker, but can be somewhat annoying having to push them back in several times when eating. Battery life is great, especially considering that they are rechargeable with the included charger case. I answered that the batteries last for 1 day in the review below, but there's no option to select rechargeable, so that was the most accurate option. So far, I haven't had a notification that the batteries were low and I've worn them some days for close to 16-18 hours. Overall, I would say that Eargo is a great introduction into the world of hearing assistance devices, especially for those that don't really want to wear hearing aids. I feel sure that at some point, I will have to upgrade to a more powerful device, but for now and the foreseeable future, Eargo will suit my needs just fine! Doug

Eargo
Eargo 27 September 2018

Thank you for sharing your excellent Eargo Experience. Happy hearing!

Back to Table of Contents

Discussion

Use the form below to leave a quick comment about the Eargo Plus. Alternatively, consider providing more thorough feedback using our hearing aid review system. If you review your hearing aids using our review system, we'll send you a $5 promotional credit for use in our hearing aid battery shop as a special thank you. Review your hearing aids now.

Consumer Member
Consumer Member 21 November 2017
I have had 10 unit on warranty and my contact is Denny Austin! Great Customer Employee!!!! I have a lot of feedback if you want to call me! Product is a good Idea but has some quality issues. Wax and costs to maintain! I.E care kit ! That’s why I bought a rechargeable! Also The first set had a charging base which is another reason I bought! I have the 2nd Generation but what about Charging, Can I use my original? Sincerely Brian Obbink
Eargo
Eargo 11 July 2018 Replied to Consumer Member
Hi Brian, Thank you for your notes, I'll send a message to Denny that you'd like to connect! Our team worked to simplify the charging process, which is why our modern hearing aids now charge like smartphones - with a USB cord and plug that, well, plugs directly into your wall. We're all ears at 1-800-375-8058 if you have other ideas! Ch(ears)!
Professional Member
Professional Member 11 December 2017
Does Green Shield Canada take most of the cost.
Eargo
Eargo 11 July 2018 Replied to Professional Member
We do not currently handle any insurance reimbursements as it helps help keep costs down for our clients. If your provider covers hearing aids, our audiologists will complete a superbill for you). Our personal hearing guides are all ears at 1-800-375-8058 for any questions.
Consumer Member
Consumer Member 29 December 2017
I'm an audio engineer and I sent for a dummy sample in order to evaluate the size and discreteness of the unit. Instead I got an e-mail [copy available] from someone from the company offering me the discount currently available. I wrote back and explained what I was looking for and he decided to end the conversation. Believe me, in my business the $175 discount - I think it was - wasn't going to be the deciding factor, so I wrote back explaining that I had at least expected a spec sheet - frequency response, etc. I never heard back. Al
Eargo
Eargo 11 July 2018 Replied to Consumer Member
Hi Al, I'm sorry to hear about your Eargo experience. If you're interested, could you please contact us at social@eargo.com and we'll ensure your sample kit is delivered to you? Thank you.
Consumer Member
Consumer Member 06 February 2018
Nice Video Dr. Olsen. Very objective set of pros and cons. I am 73 and mainly have high frequency issues. My insurance covers the hearing test so I will do that first before I decide. Do you have a review of Opticon?
Abram Bailey, AuD
Abram Bailey, AuD 06 February 2018 Replied to Consumer Member
We have a couple of Cliff's videos loaded into our Oticon Opn product pages. Please use the search bar in and search for Oticon Opn to get to those videos.
Consumer Member
Consumer Member 29 July 2018
Alguna fundacion que patrocine la adquisicion del eargo plus, para una joven universitaria con hipo acusia severa, como una obra de caridad. Mi correo: esmed6903@gmail.com Marvin Zeledon Solis. Papa Estoy temporalmente en Atlanta Georgia. Dios los bendiga Toda obra realizada, se nos regresa en mas bendiciones.
Eargo
Eargo 30 July 2018 Replied to Consumer Member
¿Podría enviarnos un correo electrónico con información sobre su fundación a social@eargo.com?
Consumer Member
Consumer Member 17 September 2018
I have had mine for almost 45 days.  I like the instruments but i have found the charging to be fairly unreliable.  One morning, one of them was not charged at all.  Another time, neither held a charge.  Just this morning, the lights on the cradle indicated "full charge" at around 8:00 am.  At around 2:00 pm, I received the message "low battery" on one side.  I do not have much confidence in the recharge.  Yes, I do wipe to gold contacts every night before putting the instrument into the cardle.  A very satisfactory product otherwise.  I have wiped the contacts with rubbing alcohol but not every night.
Eargo
Eargo 20 September 2018 Replied to Consumer Member

Thank you for your comment. This reads to us like your charger contacts may need to be cleaned with an alcohol wipe. Please call our Client Care team at 1-800-481-1302 for directions, we're happy to help.

Add a response